No salary increase for ministers, deputy ministers, premiers

December 8, 2018 12:13 pm

President Cyril Ramaphosa. Picture: Henk Kruger/African News Agency (ANA)

Cape Town – President Cyril Ramaphosa has set out remuneration for all levels of public office bearers for the 2018/19 financial year. 

While the Commission has recommended an increase of 4% across all categories of public office bearers, Ramaphosa has determined otherwise, a statement released by the Presidency said.

“Ramaphosa’s decision not to follow the Commission’s recommendations is informed by the imperative that the State be considerate, responsive and demonstrate restraint, especially during periods of economic hardship, when determining the level of salary increases for public representatives.”

There will be no annual salary increase for the deputy president, ministers, deputy ministers, the speaker of the National Assembly, the chairperson of the National Council of Provinces, the deputy speaker of the National Assembly and the deputy chairperson of the National Council of Provinces, the statement said.

  • The salaries and allowances of the Constitutional Court judges and judges of other courts be increased by 2.5 % with effect of 1 April 2018.
  • Members of Parliament, a 2,5% increase will apply to categories ranging from House Chairperson, chief whip: majority party, leader of the opposition and whips, to Members of the National Assembly and permanent delegates to the National Council of Provinces.
  • In provincial executives, premiers, members of executive councils and speakers will not receive a salary increase.
  • Members of provincial legislatures will receive a 2,5% increase.
  • Magistrates will benefit from a 4% salary adjustment, as will office bearers in of both national and provincial houses of traditional leaders.
  • Kings and Queens will be eligible for a 2,5% increase.
  • Senior traditional leaders and headmen and women will receive a 4% increase


Categorised in: